Employment of Minors and Work Permits


A work permit is required before anyone under the age of 16 is allowed to work in any job with the exception of agriculture or domestic service work. Employers must have a work permit on file for the minor being employed before they may allow the minor to begin work.

The Labor Standards Bureau enforces employment of minors laws that establish maximum hours of work, time of day restrictions, and prohibited employment for minors 11 through 17 years of age.

Where can I get a Work Permit?

Work permits are issued at the Wisconsin Heights School District Office located at 10173 US Hwy 14, Mazomanie, WI 53560

NOTE: The permit will not be issued if the work is prohibited by law.

How to Obtain a Work Permit

To obtain a work permit, either the minor alone or the minor and a parent must visit the permit officer, taking with them:

  • Proof of  age (birth certificate, baptismal certificate, Wisconsin ID or driver’s license)

  • Social security card (must bring original card)

  • Employer’s written intent to hire, including job duties to be performed, and the hours and time of day to be worked

  • Written consent of parent or guardian

  • Payment of $10.00 permit fee (Employer must reimburse for this cost no later than the minor’s first paycheck)

Proof of Minor’s Age

The minor must present an original document from the following list:

  • A duly attested birth certificate

  • A verified baptismal certificate

  • A driver’s license or photo ID card issued by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation

What restrictions are there on the hours minors may work?

Employers of minors under the age of 16 are subject to certain restrictions when scheduling those minors to work. The time of day they may be employed — including how early and how late — and the number of hours they may work per day and per week are all regulated. These restrictions depend on whether the work day is a school day and whether the week falls during the summer season (June 1 through Labor Day) or during the school year (After Labor Day through May 31). The hours that 16- and 17-year-old minors may work is not limited, except that they may not work during hours they are required to be in school.

In addition to maximum hours and time of day restrictions, no minor (17 and younger) may work longer than 6 consecutive hours without a 30-miunute duty free meal period. No minor under 16, other than those working in agriculture or delivering newspapers, may work more than 6 days in any workweek.

Hours worked during school hours as part of an approved written work experience program do not count as part of the total permitted hours of work per day or per week.

The regulations concerning the daily or weekly hours minors may work can be found on the back of the copy of the work permit issued to the minor and the employer.


Hours and Times of Day Minors May Work in Wisconsin


Child Labor Law Updates: Effective June 23, 2017

2017 Wisconsin Act 11 was signed by Governor Walker June 23, 2017, and published June 22, 2017. The effective date of this law is June 23, 2017. The law removes the requirement that 16 and 17-year-old minors obtain work permits. This law also changes the terminology and refers to the “employment of minors” instead of child labor.

What this means for you:

Effective June 23, 2017,

  • 16 and 17-year-old minors do NOT have to obtain a work permit prior to beginning work. We will no longer issue work permits for minors ages 16 or 17.

  • The law makes no changes to the requirements for minors younger than 16. Minors younger than 16 will need to obtain a work permit prior to beginning work. We will continue to issue work permits as usual for minors younger than 16.

  • This law makes no changes to any other child labor provisions. There are no changes to the maximum hours or times of days that minors younger than 16 may work or the types of work that minors may perform.

The complete text of the law can be viewed here: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2017/related/acts/11